What to buy?

Chat about all makes of Maxi scoot here!
Miseryguts
Benefactor
Current Ride: Burgman AN400 K8

What to buy?

Post by Miseryguts »

Hi guys
In a bit of a quandary (much underused word)
I've got a budget of £2,000 and can't decide what the best Maxi would be, I've kind of short listed

yamaha majesty 400
Suzuki burgman 400

I also like the Silverwing but put that to one side as it's a bit more expensive and also seems to be more thirsty.

The Majesty seems to be praised for its reliability and build quality, but the Burgman seems more economical and roomier but seems to suffer from an iffy clutch looking at the many posts on the forum.
I am 5 foot 11 if that has a bearing on any advice that is about to come my way.

Thanks
Gary

Raven
Current Ride: Vespa SS180 - Kawasaki 1400GTR

Re: What to buy?

Post by Raven »

Hi Gary
welcome to icon_muppets.png

I’m no expert but I recently bought a 400 Burgman and loving it so far. It has plenty of power, bags of storage space and good weather protection. Getting around 65 MPG commuting and it has excellent build quality. Single cylinder is not as smooth as my Burgman 650 twin but I can live with that and they seem to hold their money quite well.

I had the dreaded clutch screech with mine, it was quite easy to remedy plenty of videos on YouTube.

Can’t comment on the Yamaha never ridden or seen one for that matter. But maxi scooters do seem to be thin on the ground down here

Raven

Miseryguts
Benefactor

Post by Miseryguts »

Thanks for that Raven
Is the Burgman spacious enough for a 5'11" rider, I'd heard that the Seat height is quite low.

Gary

MrGrumpy
Benefactor
Current Ride: T-max mk6

Post by MrGrumpy »

The Burger is a BIG beast. Besides it the Maj looks relatively petite!
I think Burger clutch issues were a feature of early ones - but it has been steadily incrementally upgraded over the years. It has been around since 1999 you know!

Deeping
Benefactor
Current Ride: t-max + xv1100

Post by Deeping »