Scooter for a big bloke

Chat about all makes of Maxi scoot here!
MattColchester

Scooter for a big bloke

Post by MattColchester »

Hello all,

I'm new to biking (albeit 20 years ago had a twist and go 50cc for a year) and looking for a 125cc scooter for trips around town/commuting/short trips when my wife has the car etc. Maybe the occasional trip out of town along A roads but for the most part, 5 miles or less. Got my CBT this weekend to get ready.

Ive spent quite a while researching on the Net and had narrowed it down to either PCX125/S Wing 125 or Honda Forza.
The PCX seems to have great reviews but the only catch is I'm 6foot 4 and seems I may be a bit too big for a PCX.
Heard great things about the S Wing as well and that seems to be a big enough unit but have heard this is very heavy and may not be suitable for a beginner? Also the Forza sounds great but seems to be holding its value very well and I dont really want to spend £3k + on a bike only for me to drop it and lose a lot of that whilst I'm still getting used to it?

Any thoughts on the PCX/S Wing/Forza for a new rider of my size? Any other recommendations?
I'm hopefully going to get to a dealership at some point and sit on some of these and see whats comfortable but interested to hear your opinions on this.
Thanks,
Matt

Bluebottle
Benefactor
Current Ride: Burgman 400 ZA L0

Re: Scooter for a big bloke

Post by Bluebottle »

I vote the S-Wing because it is roomier
Maybe a bit dated but one of the comfiest seats I've ever come across and good weather protection. Very reliable, faster and more luxurious than a PCX and longer lasting.

I wouldn't worry about the weight, it looks heavier than it is because of all that bodywork.
WE ARE THE BURG resistance is futile
The Ugly Bunch-1

Whatsisname
Benefactor
Current Ride: Burgman 400 K5

Post by Whatsisname »

Somebody posted a helpful link, that gives an impression of the fit.

http://cycle-ergo.com/
I wake up every morning with a smile upon my face,