Tmax Upgrades

Chat about all makes of Maxi scoot here!
Wizard
Benefactor
Current Ride: Tmax 530

Tmax Upgrades

Post by Wizard »

I’m new to scooters, what’s the benefits in adding Dr pulley rollers.

Also what does an overrun pulley do, I notice malossi do a kit.

Any other recommended mods.

MrGrumpy
Benefactor
Current Ride: T-max mk6

Re: Tmax Upgrades

Post by MrGrumpy »

I'm sure that there are better experts on here, but doing things to the variator can improve performance. The DrPulley sliding roller thingies seem an easy way of improving variator performance - principally on acceleration. In general lighter weight rollers allow the scoot to use more revs when accelerating, although the different design on the DrPulley weights is supposed to allow a wider range of ratio (there's a video somewhere on the web). The effect can vary from scoot to scoot and Tmax to Tmax depending on how good or bad the design of the original variator was. Eg early Tmaxs (mk1 to mk3) were quite stodgy in the mid range - adding DrPulley sliders to the mk3 improves acceleration quite wonderfully. On the other hand, the mk6 goes so well, I wouldn't bother with any mods.
You can also fit aftermarket variators (Malossi, JCosta), but the DrPulley Sliders seem to have the same effect, or it may be possible just to fit lighter weights.
No idea about the overrun pulley - I guess it just gives a wider range of ratio.

SkuTorr
Benefactor
Current Ride: Tmax Mk3

Post by SkuTorr »

Along the same line, I finally replaced my original drive belt at 22,000 miles (!) and while I was in there inspected everything. All 4 pulley halves were pristine, no wear or scoring. The Dr. pulley Sliders, which now had over 16,000 miles on them had essentially NO WEAR at all. :D Now that's a product I like!

I upgraded my contra spring to a Malossi "yellow" one, 7% stiffer,
https://scooterpartsco.com/malossi/01-m ... d017976aff

along with the Malossi Torsion Controller.