650 service

A whole section dedicated to the Suzuki Burgman
daverave

650 service

Post by daverave »

i thought I would service my bike, im no mechanic, but have basic mechanical skills. did oil & oil filter, transmission oil & gear oil relatively quick. then came the air filter that was a bit tricky & then the spark plugs. what a nightmare, first one was easy, but the second one was very tricky. after quite some time I removed the radiator brackets and moved it downwards and that made a difference.

after refitting the radiator I have noticed that in the past when 3 bars appeared on the temp gauge, the electric fan was always clicking on & off, now though 3 & even 4 bars and the fan doesn't come on. the fan is free moving, but the top of the radiator seems to be hotter, unless in the past there was an air block.

does anybody have any advice on this matter?.

I now need to change my brake pads are they relatively easy to fit?.

daverave

Re: 650 service brakes

Post by daverave »

is there a particular brake pads that works better then others?.

Steve_D
Benefactor
Current Ride: Honda SH300i

Re: 650 service

Post by Steve_D »

I'd double check the connections on the radiator fan switch first.
Paddle harder. I can hear banjo music!

Honda SH300i

poldark
Current Ride: X9 250Evo+B650[F]+NC750X [GB]

Post by poldark »

Brakes are pretty normal, as long as previous owner/mechanic has copperslip'd the pins. Use a bungee to hold the caliper stable once you've unbolted, from memory use same pads/pistons as Bandit 650.

Make sure to use red rubber grease on the relevant bits, brake cleaner/toothbrush for cleaning the pistons to make sure they move easily. To expose the pistons for cleaning but avoid them popping out and then the fiddly fluid bleeding process I've used a trick of putting an old pad between current ones then gently squeezing the lever.