HELP ME CHOOSE

Chat about all makes of Maxi scoot here!
meldrew
Current Ride: Suzuki Burgman 400

HELP ME CHOOSE

Post by meldrew »

I have sold my Silverwing 600 as I am touching 80 and it was proving too heavy for me to move around.
I have narrowed my next scoot, both from dealers, to either a Forza 300 2020 with 2300 miles, absolutely mint, fsh, with heated grips at £4200, or a J300 1919 with 5750 miles, no real service history, in lovely condition with topbox, at £3500.
Both have 12 month mots, and 3 months warranty, and having ridden them for short distances both suit my needs.
I simply cant make up my mind which to go for as I have no in depth knowledge of either, the saving of £720 on the J300 is appealing, although it is a year older.
I am looking for guidance, advice, and a concensus of which is the best buy. your comments really appreciated.
It takes many screws to make a cradle, but only one to fill it.

velocipede6295
Current Ride: Honda Forza 300

Re: HELP ME CHOOSE

Post by velocipede6295 »

I had a test ride on a J300 a few years ago, and it felt a bit low for me ( 6'3") although looking at the specs, the seat height is very similar to the Forza. The J300 is also about 9KG heavier than the Forza, but it puts out about 4 bhp more. Although the J300 is reportedly more powerful than the Forza, I struggled to get up to speed joining the motorway and was very blown about when riding on the motorway. Although this may have been partly due to the jacket I was wearing, and the very strong wind. The J300 is based on the Kymco Downtown, which does have a good reputation, for Kawasaki to have "adopted" it.